February 2013 Moms
Options

Pregnancy and surgery

I found out that I am going to need surgery on my vocal cords this summer. Then I will be on voice rest until the school year starts up again. ( I am a teacher.) anyways my DH and I were thinking of trying for our second child over the summer, but we have June and July to try to get it done. After that we will have to wait because is July 2015 we will be traveling for my sil wedding. My surgery will not be until July...so here is my question, it is ok to have surgery a few weeks into being pregnet? I am going to speak to my doctor in May when I go and get Clomid and see what she says.

Re: Pregnancy and surgery

• Options
    My Dr wouldn't take my tonsils out while pregnant. She said (claimed? Not sure if it's true) that anesthesia is dangerous to the developing featus. But she might just be bullshitting me too. :) but at my age, as necessary as removal is, it's not critical.
                    We're Going to be a Family of 5!

Lilypie - (PaHE) Lilypie - (4noI)

Lilypie - (2q9u)

• Options
    I know nothing medical FYI, but I wouldn't mix the two. Can you bump up your surgery a bit?
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    kleigh926kleigh926 member
    edited March 2014
    Anesthesia can be harmful to a developing baby. I believe there are safe anesthesias that can be used during pregnancy but it probably depends on the procedure you're having done and your anesthesiologist would definitely need to know that.

Why do you think you will need Clomid? Fertility drugs shouldn't be taken so that you can get pregnant within a certain timeframe.... Do you have a history of infertility?

ETA: I'm an RN and work in a surgical services department where we are required to have women of childbearing age either be tested for pregnancy or sign a waiver before they can be given anesthesia.
    PCOS with long, irregular cycles