D.C. Area Babies
Options

Picking a Hospital (Previously at VHC)

I have already delivered twice at VHC and the experiences couldn't have been more polar opposites (2012-exceptional in every way to the point that I would have happily put everyone on the Christmas list then beyond aweful in 2013).  Does anyone have any recent experience with them?  Does anyone have any definitely do/do not delivery advice in the DC/Maryland area?  Online reviews most typically give way to non maternity visits (not so helpful).

Re: Picking a Hospital (Previously at VHC)

• Options
    i'm new to this whole thing myself, but my friend Raves (really just raves and raves) about her experience at the Birth Center.  I realize you are asking about a hospital, but just in case you want to look into it.
  • Options
    Depends what you want. If you want a natural, or fullest support possible for vaginal birth, then GW is the place to go. The midwives are fantastic but require a commitment to natural birth so if that's not your thing OBs are also great. 

If you need a c-section, VHC is a good place to be - excellent c-section providers and private recovery rooms. 

If you need the highest level NICU, INOVA Fairfax is the place to be, but if that's not what you need, then probably best to stay away - they see emergencies every day, all day. A normal birth is somewhat foreign to them. 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    XathXath member
    I've delivered twice at VHC, and will be doing so again.  I thought the care we received was top notch both times.  There was one point with our first where one of our night nurses was less than stellar, but we talked to our favorite nurse and asked if we could be on her rotation for the rest of our stay and it was great.