May 2012 Moms

Cake Smash at 2?

Being a photographer I did a fab cake smash (lol if i do say so myself) for DD's first birthday.  What do people "do" at 2?  Anything???  I really want to do a mini chef session at three (thinking tons of flour and a chef's hat lol) but I feel like two is too young to do this and she wouldn't know what to do now.  LOL my DH is already like no cake smash but like what are others doing?  

Second thought, we are doing cupcakes for her birthday party but is anyone doing a small cake for the birthday boy/girl to smash at their high chair still?  I kinda still want to and I almost think she will enjoy it more this year.  My April is ridiculous with photography sessions and weddings so I'm trying to square away as much of this as I can for March!!!  
Thanks ladies!!!

Re: Cake Smash at 2?

• We aren't doing a cake smash this year because she didn't really enjoy it the first time. She just kept looking at me like "mom, you are seriously slacking, my hands are so sticky, help me out here!'' lol. That said I just saw my photographer post on FB the other day a preview of a birthday session with a kid who looked 5 or so, and they did a cake smash. It was cute.

Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

• She hated it the first time around, and still hates when her fingers/hands are messy, so I doubt we'll attempt this. I also just had a bad flashback to having cupcakes for her first birthday with one of those big number 1 candles in it. As I was holding it near her while everyone sang to her, the candle fell over and a little bit of hot wax splashed on her hand. Thankfully it wasn't hot enough to burn her and she was too young to be mentally scarred by it, but I will definitely never do a birthday cupcake with a candle in it again!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Loading the player...