Multiples

One baby cying while other is getting fed

Hi fellow MoMs,

I'm new at this twin mommy thing. I've been mainly pumping breast milk and bottle feeding. I'm on my own for most of the feedings. Sometimes I try feeding both babies at the same time if they're both awake, but normally I just do one at a time.

This has probably been asked before but I couldn't find it by searching. My question is, how do you handle the situation when you're feeding one twin, and the other starts crying ? Today my first baby was fed, changed, and seemed sleepy so I put her down for a nap while I started feeding the second baby. After a while the first baby started fussing and crying! Do you normally just let the crying twin cry? Do you put down the twin you're feeding to attend to the crying twin? In my case I let her cry while I continued with the second baby's feeding, I felt bad doing it but she settled down on her own after a few minutes. Just wondering what other MoMs do. Thanks!

Re: One baby cying while other is getting fed

• If I know she's okay (fed, changed, not in trouble or lying on something pokey), I will leave them to cry for a few minutes. They usually stop on their own.   If they get really angry or screamy I'll attend them then.  Yours are still really young, but you probably want to try and start feeding them together.  It'll make life much easier once you get used to it.  I used to stick mine in the same boppy when they were that little and feed them together.  Or, you can put the one that's fed in the RNP or bouncy somewhere and put that near your foot, so you can rock it or bounce it, or close enough to place your hand on her so she knows you're nearby.

TTC since May 2006. After 3 failed Clomid cycles, 2 failed Injectibles/IUIs, 2 failed IVFs and 1 failed FET, we moved on to adoption! 

Last ditch FET resulted in BFP, and identical twin girls!