Babies on the Brain
Options

Anyone else work/worked in veterinary medicine?

Hello Ladies!

I'm wondering if any of you currently work, or have worked, in the veterinary field. I work as a vet tech and with H & I thinking of TTC this fall there are a lot of questions/concerns I have with my job. I work in a really small practice (one doctor, one receptionist, 2 techs) so there isn't really someone to take over the jobs I can't do without making their day worse. I know that X-rays are completely off the table, which isn't an issue, however I am concerned about the anesthetic gas we use to maintain patients during surgeries. It can cause premature births and birth defects which makes me really nervous to be around it. When I was in school they told us that as long as you aren't in the room during intubation & extubation than you shouldn't be worried but what about when doing dentals? I'm just curious how other techs have handled working and being pregnant. I know it's possible but it will probably make some things a little more complicated.

Thanks Ladies!

imageVisit The Nest!

Re: Anyone else work/worked in veterinary medicine?

• Options
    I worked as a vet tech during my pregnancy. I did surgeries and dentals, but I waited for the animal to be intubated (or held my breath for a few seconds). The only things I avoided was handling pets who were late on rabies vaccines and cats that were extra cranky. I still did everything else.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    aggiebugaggiebug member
    edited February 2014
    Yes I do! (ps hi from TN)

As far as gases go if you have a good scavenging system the risk is relatively quite low but you are correct incubation/ extubation are the higher risk times. They do make special mask/ ventilator systems you can wear around anesthesia. I think it is the same you would wear for painting.