Adoption

Post placement depression

I was diagnosed with this today. I am struggling hard with our placement even though they are great kids. Anyone else have any experience with this?
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Post placement depression

• I have no direct experience, but Post Adoption Depression is more common than people think. I'm so glad you got some help.
  • I did. Bad. With our daughter who is now almost 7 mo and came home from the hospital w us. Feel free to pm me if you want to talk more. I'm sorry you are experiencing this. Big hugs.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Loading the player...
  • I went to a conference and heard someone speak about this. They said it's very similar to post partum. I definitely experienced something similar although I think I had more anxiety than depression. You are definitely not alone.

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Thank you ladies.  Every day is definitely getting better, but we still have a ways to go.  Our agency did not discuss this at all.  Not at all.  Our placement was hectic (we found out we were getting them 3hrs before they showed up at our house) and they are older then we originally planned and 3 days after we got them we found out the younger one is likely going to go home to dad in the next month or so (we are foster to adopt, but were told they would likely be freed for adoption at the next court hearing, which is why we agreed to take them).  I think a lot of this led to the depression (I also had a history of depression in college).  what a roller coaster
  • Can you talk to them about addressing this in the future? It's pretty common, IMO it should be part of their training.

I'm glad to hear you're feeling better.

• I had a hard time, especially after our first adoption, but I wouldn't consider what I had full-on depression.