Natural Birth
Options

Pressure from doctor?

Hi everyone,

I'm seriously looking into a natural birth. I'm looking to start private Bradley method classes next week (since the classes are 12 weeks long, I may deliver before the classes are done). I have an OB/GYN I've been seeing the whole pregnancy. I'm wondering if any of you have felt pressure from your doctor for interventions or that they didn't support your wishes to go natural? This is my first time, so I don't know what to expect. Any feedback or advice would be appreciated!
Thank you!

BabyFruit TickerAnniversary

Re: Pressure from doctor?

• Options
    Not all doctors are the same...some ate more pushy about interventions, some are less. The only way to know how your doctor feels is to bring a birth plan and discuss it with him/her.
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    My OB was great. I spoke with her about my wishes and what I wanted in my birth. She made notes of it in my chart and when I was in labor the on call OB had those notes. He told me he would do everything he could to help me have a natural birth and he did. He was amazing and respected my H and I. When I arrived at the hospital I was in transition and refused an IV or a Heplock. The nurses and OB were all OK with that. I think one of the big issues is that many women do not know about the various interventions and that they have the right to refuse them (if there is no medical emergency). Being educated and prepared for a natural birth is the most important thing.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

I didn't decide I wanted a natural birth until I was fairly far along, like around 25 weeks or so.  Because of that I had never researched a natural birth friendly OB and hadn't talked to mine about how he felt about certain things.  I ended up with GD and he kept saying that he didn't want me to go past my due date, blah, blah, blah even though I was diet controlled and I only gained 19 pounds during the whole pregnancy.