Postpartum Depression
Options

Just decided to come here - Intro (sorry for the novel!)

Hey.  I am back on TB after a loooong hiatus after my DS was born, but I have since returned since becoming pregnant with #2.  I have an 18-month-old DS, and am due May 28 with DS#2.  

I struggled with an extremely mild case of depression in high school, mostly due to social pressures and poor self-esteem.  Once I graduated and moved on with my life I found ways to cope and change my outlook on life - I joined the military, then a year later was married to my DH after a whirlwind adventure of a 6-week engagement.  That's another story itself.  When DS was almost 4 months old, I had used up all my maternity leave that I'd saved up, and had to go back to my one weekend a month drill schedule (I'm in the Air National Guard).  I struggled with leaving my baby at home with my then-apprehensive DH, having to pump, going back to a bad work situation...it was hard.  I was physically ill the night before my first day back, mostly because I was sick with myself for wanting to injure myself to the point that I didn't have to go back to work.  I had an invisible bruise on my forehead because I had hit my head against the tile wall in an attempt to knock myself out and avoid having to go back.  I went to talk to the psychological director at work the next day, who helped me through the next couple of months.  On top of all of this, my sister, who I am pretty close to, ran away with a boyfriend that my family didn't approve of, which sent me spiraling to the point that I went to my OB and started taking medication for PPD/depression.  I didn't like the way it made me feel, so once I had figured out how to manage myself I quit taking it.