2nd Trimester
Options

Stretching pains?

Hi,
I'm 18 weeks pregnant with my first baby (little boy) and for the past few days I've had uncomfortable period type pains around my lower abdo, back, and sometimes the tops of my thighs! Midwife said it's normal as it's just baby stretching out and I was just wondering if anyone had any tips to ease the aches? I'm a nurse on a neuro trauma ward so it's not as though I can rest for long periods of time as my job and lifestyle are pretty active, I've found myself taking to my bed in order to ease them haha! I'm not too worried as the pains disappear every night then reappear every afternoon (obviously baby just making room) but seriously nobody tells you how uncomfortable it can be!

Thanks in advance xx

Re: Stretching pains?

• Options
    Hi! I'm also 18 weeks and having some serious stretching in my lower abdomen and hip flexors. I've found that actually making some time to stretch has helped. I've been doing online barre3 exercises, but any yoga/pilates/ballet stretches would work. Hope this helps!
  • Options
    Oh good I'm glad to hear that it's normal, I'm going to try swimming today so hope this helps, will let you know :) thanks x
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I'm having similar pains, and they are pretty uncomfortable at times!  What's nice though, is that for me, they come with a few pokes and flutters from the baby :) I am also trying swimming this week, as well as regular yoga.  I'm going to ask my instructor if there are any stretches that can help.  Have any of you taken something like Tylenol for the pain?  
  • Options