Working Moms
Options

Maternity Leave Discrimination?

Hi, this is my first time posting on the boards! I'm due with my first on June 24 and feeling good. 

I'm not feeling good about my employer. I work at a small law firm in MA-- less than 50 employees so FMLA doesn't apply, but MA law says companies are required to give employees who've been at the company more than a year (I have) 8 weeks unpaid with job security to return after their leave. 

I informed my boss that I was pregnant about a month ago (when I was 13 weeks), and asked him to give me more details on the maternity policy-- which was not given to me when I tried to casually ask about it months ago before we started trying. He hemmed and hawed, said he knew they did 3 weeks paid paternity leave but wasn't sure about maternity leave since they hadn't had many women have babies while working there. I asked him to get back to me as soon as possible.

I then went to speak with the two women at the firm who have given birth while working there and both said they'd been given 3 weeks paid leave and an additional 9 weeks unpaid- 12 weeks total. One of these women is a junior partner in the firm and has had two children during her time here. She indicated to me that I would have the same leave.

So today, a month later, my boss came to me and informed me that the leave policy is 3 weeks paid and then the unpaid leave is decided on a case by case basis. I was stunned. I could barely manage to tell him what both women had told me about their leaves, that I most certainly would not be returning after 3 weeks, and that if indeed it is a case by case situation, he should know my health insurance is through my husband and so they've never paid a cent for my medical expenses.