May 2014 Moms
Options

Will you swaddle?

2»

Re: Will you swaddle?

• Options
    I'll be a little more cognizant this time of the hips after DDs hip dysplasia to not bind the legs in an unhealthy hip position. Definitively for the arms though to prevent startling. I liked the sacs with the Velcro pieces over th arms.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Options

smittysmiles

My trainer offered no real scientific research to back up her claim, but she told us that swaddling inhibits movement, as babies have a natural desire to move and swaddling prevents it.

I have no real experience as I am a FTM, but I'd like to try not doing it. She never mentioned the startle reflex being the cause of babies waking during their sleep, she spoke of it more when babies are put down onto a bed/bassinet etc. I haven't done any research myself as I just never gave a second thought of it. But if someone has some research and would like to share, I would like to read up on it. Or some personal experience.

I am all for what works for everyone's own families, all in the goal of happy, healthy children. And of course there are things we all want to do, but the baby might not be following our game plan.
    The startle reflex is very real. And yes, they absolutely will do it in their sleep and not just when being put down.

We swaddled DS until he could break out of it (~6w). Used swaddlepods after that until he could houdini his hands out. From there he was restraint free...and let me tell you, he woke himself up plenty. Overall I dont have regrets about following his lead on dropping the swaddle as i think it helped with his transition from bassinet to crib, but man, there were some nights I questioned the decision.

BFP#2 2.5.11 (EDD 10.15.11) DS born 9.28.11

BFP#4 8.27.13 (EDD 5.6.14) DD born 4.23.14

Lilypie - (2llN)

Lilypie - (2L9u)

My Recipe Blog
    ~All AL'ers welcome~

• Loading the player...
  • Options