VBAC

Failure to Progress and VBAC - am I eligible???

With my first pregnancy, I was (reluctantly!) induced only 3 days past my due date. I labored for 2 days, only making it to 2 cm after tons of pitocin (didn't want that at all!). Does failure to progress have anything to do with my being able to VBAC? Do you think I failed to progress because I was induced too early? I feel sad even now thinking about my "failed" attempt at a natural childbirth... I know I would be so good at it if I had the chance!

Re: Failure to Progress and VBAC - am I eligible???

• Thanks for responding! I am not really sure why they jumped right into an induction. They never showed concern for me or the baby as if it were an urgent thing for our safety. I felt like it was sort of early when they suggested it, but I went along with it because I'm not a doctor either! In hindsight, I wish I had asked more questions and had more presence in the Dr. office at the time. I was overdue, uncomfortable, and ready to get him outta there (aren't we all at the end?!) but I had no idea that an induction could fail and I didn't have enough knowledge or guts to feel like I had a right to question it. I hadn't read as much about induction and c section because I was too busy preparing for a natural birth! Sigh... What was your experience like?
  • I think the fact you were induced has a lot to do with how your birth ended. Induction can raise your chance of a CS to 50%. So I would think your chances of VBAC are fine, something like 75% of all women who try are able to VBAC.

Do you have a new provider??? Definitely find a new office now, whether or not you're pg.
    DS1 - Feb 2008

DS2 - Oct 2010 (my VBAC baby!)

• Loading the player...