High-Risk Pregnancy
Options

New here...shortened cervix and fibroids

Hey everyone, I'm Shanna...I'm still very new to the high-risk world. In fact I think I might still be feeling the effects of the whiplash of it all. Not even 2 weeks ago I was meeting with my midwife discussing more details of the homebirth we were planning. Last week I started having excruciating pain, and went to the hospital. As it turns out, I had a degenerating fibroid, and my cervix is 2.0cm. I was given the steroid shots (OUCH), was in the hospital on antibiotics, pain meds, and fluids for 3 days, and am now taking it easy at home. I was told I didn't need bedrest, but that I shouldn't do any heavy lifting etc. I'm also to use progesterone suppositories every night before bed.

So I've gone from a home birth with a midwife to high-risk being followed by the MFM team at our major city hospital. This is my second pregnancy...I have a 4.5 year old daughter, and I had the most amazing pregnancy with her. This is all very new to me, and I'm looking forward to talking with you all and getting to know you all.

I'm still not sure what I should be doing or not doing. I'm hoping to find out more when I meet with the MFM doctor this Wednesday. I feel like I'm walking on eggshells, and am afraid to do anything. I'm so worried that I'll do something that will start labour. I'm only 26w5d, so this baby needs to bake for another long time!

Any tips, advice, and anything you want to share is appreciated. Again this is all very new and scary to me!

Cheers....

Re: New here...shortened cervix and fibroids

• Options