Multiples
Options

Surgery during 2nd trimester with twins

Hi everyone.
I'm pretty new to the discussion forums so I'll start with a little intro.

I'm Lori, 37, first pregnancy with di-di twins. 16 weeks today!

So far things have been going well pregnancy wise, despite a number of reasons for me being in the high risk category.
Early in my pregnancy I was diagnosed with cancer (metastatic melanoma in the lymph nodes in my right armpit) and because of that I'll be having surgery next week to have the lymph nodes removed.   My MFM doctor and my oncologist assure me it's the safest time for the babies to do this and that everything will be fine. I can't help but be nervous, not for myself but for our babies. 

Has anyone undergone a surgical procedure during pregnancy for a maternal condition?  How did things turn out? Were there any extra precautions taken as a result of you being pregnant?  I suggested I'd even stay awake and have the procedure done under local anesthetic only but given the length and extent of the surgery my surgeon suggested it's best I'm under general anesthesia to avoid stress.  MFM will visit me in recovery to check on the babies right away.  

As much as I am very anxious to get the surgery so I can tell myself the cancer is gone and I can just relax and grow some babies, I'm sure I'll be a complete mess until after it's done and I know the little ones are ok!

If anyone has any experiences to share I would love to hear them. Otherwise please keep us in your thoughts on Nov 1st for a successful surgery! :)

Cheers,
Lori

Re: Surgery during 2nd trimester with twins

• Options
    I seem to recall @rynleigh going through surgery during her twin pregnancy..
    I have never been through what you're facing. Will be keeping you in T&P for a smooth, successful procedure and recovery!

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers  image

Lilypie - (9CKY)Lilypie - (xzY1)

• Options