Blended Families
Options

New here

Hi everyone! I just wanted to introduce myself. I am new to thebump and this is my first time on the BF board.

My husband and I were married in March and are expecting our first in May 2014. :)

He has a very sticky custody situation from a previous marriage, which ended 3 years ago:
  • 7 year old biological son
  • 7 year old adopted son (biologically a cousin)
  • 13 year old former stepson, who calls him dad, but rarely visits unless it's Christmas or birthday
  • All three boys live 9 hours away from us with their mother, who is very difficult, to say the least
Needless to say, the custody opportunities we get are very limited. Basically it's every other major holiday, in the summer 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off, and 3-day weekends. Those weekends are the worst. The kids drive all day Friday, rush rush rush to see family and friends on Sat/Sun, and drive back all day Monday. Plus there are sometimes when we go several months without seeing them. For example, earlier this year we went from mid-Feb to the end of May. They were not able to come to our wedding, and their mother made sure to show them pictures on Facebook (not sure how she found them) and made them feel like they weren't wanted there. Of course, she was the reason they couldn't come.

My husband initially tried to get primary custody of the boys (at least the 2 that are his, with the 3rd as an option), but was denied. Their mother got exactly what she wanted as far as custody goes. As a result, the boys spend their days at school, their afternoons at daycare, and their nights with a babysitter. The oldest son spent his entire summer bouncing around among different friends' houses.

We lead totally different lifestyles. Most of our free time is spent on church activities. Most of her free time is spent out at the bars.