C-sections

Thinning uterus???

Kenda&RainKenda&Rain member
edited October 2013 in C-sections
Hi. I was wondering if any other moms with previous c-sections have had issues with a thinning uterus at the incision site? I've had two previous c-sections (1999 and 2007) and was hoping for a VBA2C. I am currently 30 weeks. We were planning on scheduling a c-section, and initially the plan was that I would be allowed to try vaginal if I went into spontaneous labor prior to the scheduled c-section. Since about 27 weeks I've been experiencing braxton hicks contractions, but they've actually been somewhat unpleasant and didn't stop with movement and activity. At 29 weeks I experienced leakage or something (they weren't able to definitively say whether it was amniotic fluid or what) after work. I am an aerobics instructor and was teaching a class. That same evening I experienced sharp pain across my lower abdomen, it had me doubled over. Long story short, vaginally everything looks fine, baby is great. However, upon further inspection at my MFM office they determined I have a thinning uterus at the previous incision sites, and the contractions were causing it to get thinner. So I am now on restricted duty - early hiatus from teaching my aerobics classes, no teaching swim lessons because the warm water pool makes the contractions increase, and limited daily activities. They've also told me that there will be no chance of me being allowed to go into labor and they'll be taking the baby earlier, although the specific time hasn't been set yet. I am concerned. Dr says I'm lucky because we caught it early. Apparently most cases aren't seen or noticed until they go in for the c-section and it's seen upon opening, or upon rupturing. If I experience any more of the lower abdomen pains I am to go into L&D IMMEDIATELY.