Breastfeeding

Question about breastfeeding rights

I recently started working full time again but I work from home. I am a consultant and my employer already put me on a project that involves travel. I have asked for a little more time before traveling and they have said no. But I recently found out about Break Time for Nursing Mothers in federal law:
https://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs73.htm
It requires employers to provide the time and a private space to pump (not a bathroom). But, how am I supposed to get that on the road, plane, and client site? Does anyone know how this would apply when traveling?
Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Question about breastfeeding rights

• I don't know how it applies when traveling, but I can share what I do.  I travel occasionally for work (no overnights without baby yet, but I do some long day trips), and I typically nurse baby before I leave, then pump in the rental car on my way to a job site, then I would pump again over lunch or on my way back to the airport, and sometimes, depending on the length of the day, pump on my way home from the airport, and nurse DS as soon as I got home.  I will say that I've been amazed that I've had no problems with TSA and taking BM through the airport.  I never take my ice pack - I take ziplock bags, and stop at a gas station or fast food place and fill them with ice to keep the milk cold.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I know some people just really, really don't like pumping in bathrooms on principle (which I get), but I have had luck with the family bathrooms at airports. They're totally private, spacious, you can lock the door and be totally undisturbed for as long as you want. If someone knocks or tries to open the door, just ignore it. THey will go away.
  • Loading the player...

• ClaryPax said:

I don't suppose your employer can do anything while you are in an airport or airplane, but they certainly can talk to the client and help you find a room at the client site.