April 2013 Moms
Options

Teething necklace update

I know we have discussed whether amber teething necklaces really work on here... I have been using one on DS for a couple months now so I thought I would share my anecdotal evidence.

Before we got it, we were using Hyland's teething gel, cold teethers, and sometimes Tylenol when he was screaming in pain from his mouth. We haven't had to use any of those in a long time!

On Thursday daycare took his necklace off because another baby was grabbing it. Then they remarked how cranky he was that day. DH didn't put it on DS yesterday, and daycare said he was cranky and drooling everywhere. He also ate all 4 bottles by 1:45 both days instead of 3 bottles by 3:30. Perhaps he was just hungry but he also likes to eat when his mouth hurts.

We put his necklace on when he came home and he was happy as could be. I realize this is all anecdotal, but I do think the necklace works on him. :)
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Teething necklace update

• Options
    I have been thinking about getting one. Do you know if they work on a kid-by-kid basis or if they are supposed to work on all babies?
  • Options
    I think they are supposed to work on all kids.

No teeth yet- they seem to be going through the bone right now.

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    I dunno, I don't think it makes much of a difference. DD has had hers for almost 3 months... Still drool everywhere and she definitely has bad teething days.
  • Options
    Grace0609 said:

I think they are supposed to work on all kids.

No teeth yet- they seem to be going through the bone right now.

So what makes you think the necklace is working for teething when you have used it for months in a child who is getting no teeth?  I am not trying to be a jerk, but I am seriously curious what you think it is doing if the baby has not popped through a tooth in the past couple of months that you have used it?