Babies on the Brain

A pregnancy-newb question (painless, I promise)

My SIL is due Oct 2nd. I am going out of town Oct 8-11. We are all excited because this is the first niece/nephew/grandchild in either one of our families. She and I were talking and I said i hope she has her baby before I go out of town and she said there is no way they would let her carry the baby a week late. I admit I am a total newb when it comes to this area of pregnancy. How long past due dates do doctors typically let women go before inducing/c-sections? Whenever she has the baby is fine with me, I am not trying to rush her, but I will be pretty bummed if I am out of town and miss it!

Re: A pregnancy-newb question (painless, I promise)

• It depends on the doctor and if she has had any complications (most common is gestational diabetes).  My doctor let me choose to be induced anytime after my due date and would not force induction until 2 weeks past.
    Baby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • My dr scheduled inductions around 41 weeks, depending on the health of the mom. I went early both times so it was never an issue for me.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

View Full Size Image

• Loading the player...
  • I was 17 days over with my 1st. He was completely healthy.