Eco-Friendly Family

Mason Jars For Storing Baby Food

Hi, this is my first time posting on this board, but I'm hoping you might be able to help with a question. I'm a FTM of an 8 month old. I make her food and now that she is starting to eat more solids the 2oz containers I originally bought are too small. I like the idea of glass but the baby specific ones are very expensive. Does anyone use mason jars for storing baby food? I bought a 12 pack of 4 oz canning jars and from what I read they are pretty sturdy and can be put in the freezer. They are also much cheaper. Has anyone used these? If so how do you like them? I also still need to figure out what I am going to use for a lid.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Baby Birthday Ticker TickerAnniversary

Re: Mason Jars For Storing Baby Food

• brownmousebrownmouse member
    edited September 2013
    I use mason jars for EVERYTHING. I store all my bulk goods in them, when I make jams/jellies I use them, and I have even made coffee syrups and creamers and stored them in the fridge/freezer. Heck, we honestly use the tall skinny pickle jars as drinking glasses, which is awesome because if we want to make a glass of tea or something and are going out, we just stick a lif on it and take it with us. I use them for my morning coffee if I leave the house as well.

We are currently trying for #2, and we plan to use the small mason jars for storing homemade baby food. I am pretty sure mason jars are the best invention ever.

Edit: Excuse my exuberance. I am a little excitable this morning. :)
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickersDaisypath Anniversary tickers
  • Thanks! It's hard to understand how the baby companies will charge over $20 for four glass cubes when I can get 12 4 oz Mason jars for $9. I also bought some 4 oz jars that I'm going to use to make hot chocolate mix favors for my daughter's first birthday party.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker