Stay at Home Moms

Another S/O Preschool

So, this might be a dumb question, but I have seen lots of folks on here talk about how much is too much preschool and at what age they feel comfortable with different amounts. It seems the implication is that kids can only handle so much preschool at various ages. I guess my question is--millions of kids are in daycare at least 40 hours a week and my assumption is they do fine. What do you see as the difference? Is it that only part of the day is actually preschool and there is more "free play" during the after-care portion of the day. Or is it something else?

FTR, I am not saying I don't understand giving alot of consideration to when and how much preschool you want for your LO. I am currently weighing the options for my 14 month old DD. I am just curious what people think about this.

Re: Another S/O Preschool

• When I first graduated with my teaching degree I was a substitute teacher for a year.  For 3 months I took over a maternity leave in a preschool classroom.  It was a full day program, 8am-6pm I think.  At the same school there was a half day preschool which was 2 1/2 hours.  I was at the orientation for the following year and one of the parents asked what the difference was between the two classrooms and the principal's response was from an academic sense, nothing.  Both classrooms followed the same curriculum, the only differences were what you would expect from a full day program versus a half day.  The first 2 1/2 hours were pretty much the same, we read the same books, did the same activities, etc.  The full day program served breakfast, lunch and snack, had a two hour nap in the afternoon, had two recesses and more 'free play' time.  So from lunch on in was much more like daycare.  
  • edited August 2013