Working Moms
Options

First time in Daycare - crying all day. Help!

Any advice is good advice for me right now so let 'er rip!  DS was home with my SIL for the first year of his life and since I am a teacher, we've been home together all summer.  Well, school is starting and so we started daycare last week.  He was only able to go two days because of a death in the family out of state but both days, the daycare lady (its an in home) called me pretty much asking me to come get him because he was crying for over four hours.  I obliged but I know that this has to get better without my help soon because I'll be back at work next week.  He is 15 months so I know this is a tricky time for separation anxiety and theres teething and he has an ear infection... but I'll take any advice into consideration as to what I can do or tell the daycare lady to make this better for him.  This is a huge adjustment for him. 

\

DS #1 born 05/25/2012   
                                                     BFP#2:  06/12/2013 ---- loss

DS #2 born 4/08/2014
      BPF#4: 2/1/2016 --- 2/23/2016 suspected molar pregnancy--- 3/15/2016 D&E - diagnosis MM
                                                               BFP#5 - 9/22/2016

* formally bornmommy

Re: First time in Daycare - crying all day. Help!

• Options
    Tell her your tricks for comforting him. Be quick and positive when you leave him. Picking him up early will only prolong his adjustment. I like centers because they have the staffing to devote extra snuggles to LOs when they are new. DD start daycare at 11 months. She cried a lot at first, but her teachers took turns holding her, and within a couple if weeks, she was fine.
    DS born 8/8/09 and DD born 6/12/12.
  • Options

Talk to him about it and how much fun he's going to have and what good friends he's going to make.

Can you take him shopping for something that he can bring to daycare and share?  Maybe a snack or a flower for the teacher and each child?