Working Moms
Options

What would you do?

Currently we live 14 hours away from all family. I lost my job and have been looking. DH's job pays less and doesn't have insurance so I need a job. I was just offered a job in the area we currently live that pays less and only has insurance for me so I would still need to get insurance for DH and my LO. I also just found out I'm pregnant with baby #2.

I have sent out a bunch of applications to the area where our families currently live. The positions have just closed and I'm hoping to hear from them for interviews soon. I am a teacher, so should I accept this new job or wait and see if I get a different job closer to family that pays more and has insurance? TIA!

AnniversaryBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: What would you do?

• Options
    There is no guarantee about the other jobs you applied for.  I would accept the offer you have now.
  • Options
    I say accept the job. I know it's not the best and most professional thing to do, but people do accept jobs and then back out later for various reasons. You will burn a bridge if you do, but you would only back out if you had a different offer that was set.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

I agree - accept the current job offer. For insurance, would your child qualify for SCHIP? If not, DH should look for a job that can cover your child. 

Also, downsize whatever bills you can - replace phone plans with pay as you go basic phones, cancel cable, etc etc.  

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    Pips09Pips09 member

I would take the job offer you have. You don't know if another will materialize at all, and I would not risk your livelihood on it. (a bird in the hand, you know)

Daisypath Happy Birthday tickers
    Daisypath Happy Birthday tickers

• Options