February 2012 Moms
Options

Mommy Guilt - is it just me?

I'm a teacher and have the day off tomorrow for MLK Day.  I plan on taking DS to daycare so I can get some school work and house work done tomorrow with no distractions.  Over Thanksgiving and Christmas Break, I took him in as well a few times so I could cook, clean, shop, etc for the holidays.   While I am able to get tons done, recharge my batteries, and have a little needed "me time," I still have major mommy guilt taking him on days when I don't go to work.  Anyone else ever feel that way?  How do you cope?  I feel like I get the side-eye from people when they find out I take him in even when I'm off from work, not that it matters what people think.  I just still feel kind of judged.  
Baby Birthday Ticker TickerBabyFruit Ticker Daisypath Anniversary tickers image

Re: Mommy Guilt - is it just me?

• Options
    Trust me, If I had the option of taking my kid to day care when I needed "me" time, I would. I love him to pieces... But sometimes it's good to have peace and quiet to actually get something done.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options

I'm just jealous you have off for MLK day! 

No help on the mommy guilt, but I think it's fine.  Would you be paying even if the kids weren't there?  If you need justification to make yourself feel better that might be it.  Also, I know plenty of people who send their kids to daycare on days off.  You are not alone.

BabyFruit Ticker

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    So many moms do this that I would consider it a right of passage into parenthood!

BabyFruit Ticker
    Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickersLilypie Third Birthday tickers
  • Options
    I bet you aren't getting the sideeye, but that you just feel that way because you feel guilty. I would love some time to get things done, and recharge without Lucia home! I've been in a funk recently and I think that would help. Try not to feel guilty, your time and energy is better spent recharging!!