Babies: 0 - 3 Months
Options

working moms turned SAHM~ how?

I am a working mom now (teacher) and can't fathom leaving LO when he's 9 weeks old... how were you able to transition from working (multiple incomes) to not? Mostly wondering how financially... Were you able to pick up anything extra working from home in order to bring in extra money? Trying to figure out a possible way to feasibly do it!! All ideas and help are welcome :)

Re: working moms turned SAHM~ how?

• Options

Lurking from 12-24

I'm a full time grad student but I stay at home during the day.  We live on my husband's teacher's salary--so not a lot.  I would just take a serious look at your finances.  We shared a paid for car up until my dad bought a new car and gave us his beater.  My husband rode his bike and the bus to work so that DD and I had the car during the day.  Not having car payments has been huge for us.  We also don't shop a ton and everything we buy for DD is generally consignment store stuff.  We cloth diaper so we've been able to get through the first year + for only about $400 (and alot of that we bought when we got our tax refund).  I also bf so we never had to buy formula.  We also don't have a lot stocked away in savings.  We have an emergency fund, and then my husband's retirement plan, but we aren't putting thousands away for the future right now.  We're ok with that.  You have to figure out what you HAVE to have and what you can live without and go from there.  We also have netflix, but no cable.  Those little things can add up.

Oh, and as a teacher, you could probably pull in extra money as a tutor working in the evenings if your DH is home to take care of LO.  I tutor college kids at my university and that also brings in a little extra.  

• Options