March 2015 Moms
Options

Formula Feeding Guilt

Im new to the discussion boards and I wanted to introduce myself first, I am a FTM and a full time teacher. My DH and I are over the moon with the expected arrival of our little girl on March 16th.

Now for my question... I have now gone through hospital birthing classes and the big hot topic was "You must Breastfeed!" I am completely overwhelmed by this idea since I must go back to work in 6 weeks after baby is born. With chronic migraines I was taken off medication when we found out we were pregnant and they have been debilitating throughout the pregnancy. I've talked to the OB and my General Practitioner about this and it looks as if I am going back on medicine for the migraines when she is born. Thus canceling out breastfeeding.

Now, how do you deal with the comments that come when people find out you are formula feeding? Will the guilt of not being able to breastfeed ever go away? Right now all I hear is how wrong of a choice I am making....

Re: Formula Feeding Guilt

• Options
    I didn't breastfeed with #1, and I'm not doing it with #2. I'm guilt free, and you should be, too. It's a personal choice!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I would others if my child looked malnourished. Once they said no, I would tell them to mind their own business. A healthy mom and baby are more important than whether your baby gets breast milk or formula.
  • Options
    It wasn't until recently I had the guilt. I'm 33 weeks on Monday and it was a lot of comments made to me by other people. I really think people just like to judge and jump to conclusions but when I was called "selfish" for choosing my Heath over the health of my baby (their words not mine) it made me wonder if I was really getting the backlash because of selfishness.
  • Options