May 2012 Moms
Options

Littleredfish I think you can help me :)

DH got me a puppy! He swears it isn't because of the upset earlier in the week over no more babies but I'm not so sure. Either way I have been asking for a dog for a couple years now and DH found one for a reasonable price that he likes too. He's 5 months old and partially trained he is a shih tzu lab cross.

Anyway, the point of this post is that after 15 years I'd forgotten what it's like to have a puppy!  He is partially crate trained so I'm continuing with that. We are having some accidents on the floor but over all he is very well behaved. Would it be better to get puppy pads and try to get him to at least go on those or better to stick with taking him out about once an hour? Half the time he's pooping within 20 minutes of bringing him in!

Also any other advice you can offer is welcome! DH isn't an animal person so the going on the floor is already trying his patience.

Re: Littleredfish I think you can help me :)

• Options
    I have no help on the puppy front since we adopted our dog when he was 3, but a shih tsu / lab cross? I can't even imagine how that happened or what it would look like!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Options
    Elf this is what a shih tzu lab cross looks like :)
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    OMG he's cute! 

Some people swear by pee pads, but I have enough cats to clean up after inside that I like to encourage my dogs to go outside. Also, I find they can draw you back if you eventually want him to go outside 100% then you have to train him off of them. Honestly, I basically potty trained DD the way I trained my dogs (LOL!) Here are my main tips
    • With puppies you want to be taking them out after they wake up, after they eat or drink, after they play, basically after they move on from any one task lol. It's a huge pain, but worth it and this phase usually passes quickly.