October 2022 Moms

COVID while pregnant

I’m 27 weeks pregnant and just tested positive for COVID 😫. I’m a teacher and have managed to avoid it until now. Minor symptoms right now, sore throat, cough, slight fever. 

Has anyone else had COVID during pregnancy? 

Re: COVID while pregnant

• Hi, I had COVID about a month ago when I was about 23 weeks. The strain that I caught was very mild though. I ended up not needing anything even for a fever. The dr. Prescribed a cough medicine, but I didn’t take it since it hasn’t been tested in pregnant women. Lots of rest, cough drops and water. I also didn’t have much of an appetite at all so trying to eat really healthy didn’t work out for me. I also bought an oximeter and used it every 5 minutes! Also, try to monitor kicks because having COVID can impact the baby, but don’t stress too much about it because there’s nothing you can do besides resting and drinking lots of fluids! I hope you feel better soon ❤️
  • edited July 2022
    I had it during the first trimester. Mine was pretty mild, I had a very low grade fever that didn't even need meds. I was just SUPER wiped out and tired for quite awhile, then had a cough and congestion that lasted for 3 weeks. My son and husband were a lot sicker with really high fevers and dizziness and headaches, and myself and both daughters were not as sick. Gastro a couple weeks later kicked our butts worse! My midwife mentioned that all they're doing really (in Ontario anyways), is offering an extra ultrasound at 35 weeks to check baby's growth, since that can be affected by covid. She also mentioned that since they had started that, they hadn't seen any cases yet of growth restriction in their practise.
  • Loading the player...