1st Trimester

Finding the Right OB

How are you all searching for the right OB for you? With so many of us holding off until after the first trimester to tell family/friends, how are you all searching for an OB? 

For those who have done this before, what would you suggest looking for? 

A part of me would love a OB that’s also a POC. But it’s not necessarily easy to find. Especially with all the news reports that pregnant POCs feel like some medical professions don’t acknowledge their needs. Ie. What happened with Serena Williams 

Re: Finding the Right OB

• It's my first time so I really didn't know what to do and might change doctors later. I used my health insurance to find a female doctor in network. (I really don't want a male doctor.Trauma=trust issues.)

I was told I could have this doctor for the first 2 visits and then have to rotate & see all their doctors. I wanted to establish a relationship and feel safe. After I tell my family, I'll ask my sisters for recommendations. 
  • @paperbirdlady, unfortunately with many practices, you do have the option to rotate or meet other providers that are in the office.  When it comes time for delivery, you get who is on call. 

Unless, you go a midwife, or a very small practice that is not part of a larger medical group,, that tends to be common practice.  

@lovejasreed, Google reviews are decent to look at.  Your doctor office should be able to refer you to someone.  

• Loading the player...
  • I worked back by figuring out which hospital I wanted to give birth at and saw who was affiliated with the hospital that also was on my insurance. I'm lucky enough to live in an area with a few different hospitals but they each offered slightly different approaches. Narrowing that down helped me a lot. 

I also hit up a couple of friends for their insight. I told them that we were thinking about having kids but to please not assume we are pregnant or anything until we tell them. They've been great about honoring that.