1st Trimester

Any pregnant teachers?

Any pregnant teachers out there? I am a high school teacher and today I am 6w1d. Morning sickness and mild cramping are running wild every day by 9am. Cramps usually last about 10 mins and then come and go a few times a day. How is everyone else handling teaching a class of 24-30 humans during a pandemic while feeling like throwing up on them all? Lol Any tips and tricks, or honestly just notes of encouragement, would be appreciated. I’m not telling anyone I’m pregnant until after the first trimester so I’m feeling very sick and very alone. 

Re: Any pregnant teachers?

• I told my principal right away, and she assigned someone to be on call for me so I could go throw up if necessary. It’s all in your comfort level, but that worked best for me! I’ve also known teachers to have a trash can right outside their door. 😂🤷🏼‍♀️
  • Small snacks all day long, I find if my stomach is empty I'll get sick. Mints, jolly ranchers work well.

I read recently that smelling  rubbing alcohol can help to, our hand sanitizers are a mist of rubbing alcohol so I'm looking forward to trying that when the nausea kicks in.

The worst part for me with teaching is the exhaustion, I'm only 4w5d so nothing has really started yet for me. 
  • Loading the player...
  • I am a second grade teacher. I plan to let my admin know soon. Very tired already though and unmotivated to be at work unfortunately. Lol
  • I’m starting week 11 and find it hard to cope with nausea first thing in the morning and after lunch. I agree the best solution is keep snacking. I pack a few different snacks every morning and keep crackers in my car for the drive home. I’m still not sure when I’ll let admin know bc I have a history of miscarriage, so I’m being very conservative with telling others for now. Also very nervous to be in school with such high COVID rate right now. Hope you’re all staying safe and healthy!
  • edited January 2022