Health & Exercise

How to gain a healthy amount of weight?

I'm almost 8 weeks with my first. I have always been obese, and knew we were going to be TTC and wanted to get my body into a healthier place for baby. I slowly lost about 50 lbs before getting pregnant, mostly with Weight Watchers. My main goal was creating healthy habits that I could continue through pregnancy, and further in life.

I'm still considered obese, with a current BMI around 34. I know the measurement of a BMI is outdated, etc, but I also work in Healthcare where I hear BMI mentioned a lot, specifically in regards to epidurals and C-Sections. I want to have the easiest time possible, and the lowest chance of complications for me and baby.

I'm very aware that gaining weight during a pregnancy is healthy, and necessary. I also do not want to gain more than is necessary (apparently 11 to 20 lbs for me) as I plan to be back in a weightloss mode after baby, to get even healthier. Has anyone had similar experiences and has been able to gain only the necessary amount of weight?

I don't want to be too strict with myself, but TBH, I'm a junk food lover. I have already found myself thinking "you're pregnant now, eat whatever you want!" But, that is a very slippery slope as I can gain weight from poor eating like nobody's business 🙄.

I plan to keep attending WW meetings as long as I can just to keep my head out of stuffing my face, but I will not be tracking points. I have been loosely tracking calories, just to see where I'm sitting but trying to mostly maintain right now. I haven't talked to my midwife about it yet, my first appointment with her is Sept 15th and I will definitely be bringing it up.

Does anyone have any advice? Or similar experiences?

Re: How to gain a healthy amount of weight?

• at more frequently. When you're underweight, you may feel full faster. Choose nutrient-rich foods. Try smoothies and shakes. Watch when you drink. Make every bite count.