July 2020 Moms

Breastfeeding as a working mom?

Hi, I only have 2 months maternity leave but wanted to continue to breasfeed my baby. For those with experience, how did this work for you? Did you bring your own storing case for your milk? How  often did you pump? What did you leave for your baby while he was at childcare? Did you have leaking issues while working? Is it possible to stay consistent with a feeding rourine like this? I'm halfway through my pregnancy, but I want to be mentally prepares for this as it's already making me nervous.

Re: Breastfeeding as a working mom?

• I breastfed for 18 months, 12 pumping at work. 

It’s 100% possible. I’m an activity duty military doctor and I made it work. You may have to do work on your end as far as work, and may have to arm yourself with the laws that protect you. 

I pumped every 3 hours for about 20 min (30 min total with set up/cleaning. I used an empty office with a lock, and had a sign up. People still walked though (I am pretty sarcastic and belligerent so it didn’t really matter to me, but be ready). I used the Kiinde bags /system and stored them in the work fridge in a lunch box. I put the pump parts in the fridge as well and used the Medela wipes. 

I didn’t have many leakage issues, but that will depend on you (my mom leaked through shirts all the time, as did my aunts, I don’t). 

It is 100% doable. I wasn’t always a fan of it, but I’m glad I pushed through. It was worth it in the end!
  • As far as childcare, it was what I pumped the day before. Make sure your provider is up to date on pace feeding. 
  • Loading the player...
  • It's totally possible! It's going to be easier with some jobs than others, but you should be able to figure things out. Remember that you can always change things up if you need to (and/or supplement with formula). Know what your rights are as an employee and advocate for yourself if you need to.