February 2020 Moms

Maternity Leave

What is your maternity leave situation/ benefits? Post where you're from for reference! 

I am a public school teacher in Alabama. My due date is exactly 12 full weeks until the end of the school year. Hoping Baby doesn't come early, since I'm counting on maxing out unpaid FMLA. Will be required to use all my accrued sick days before using unpaid leave. Not sure what the situation will be if Baby comes a few days early.

Re: Maternity Leave

• I am a teacher in MA. 

In my district we use 6-8 weeks of sick time (depending on how dr writes us out) and then can do the remainder up to 12 weeks unpaid under FMLA. However, in our contract we also have the option to remain out for the remainder of the year unpaid and even the following year unpaid. 

With DD she was born in June about 2 weeks before school got out so I was out then, all of summer, and then took 12 weeks unpaid FML when school started again and stayed out until almost Thanksgiving. So I was home June-November. FML allows you to take 12 weeks each year and my “year” resets July 1st so my leave in June didn’t count towards the new year’s 12 weeks. 

This one, 12 weeks will be up like mid-late May and we go until mid-June. I will most likely stay home unpaid through the end of the year and return in September. 
  • Loading the player...
  • Teacher in UT here! I have about 7ish weeks of leave saved up and that is probably all I will use. We just can't afford for me to take time unpaid, sadly. I bring home more money than my husband so we depend on my check. Right now, it looks like I'll run into spring break, so that'll give me an extra week. I'll go back mid-April and school gets out before Memorial Day so we are hoping grandparents can help out so we don't have to worry about daycare until the following August.