July 2019 Moms

Name choice too strange?

I am a lawyer and noticed an opportunity with the new baby's name. We chose Evan as the first name. Hubby's last name starts with "Q" and with the first name Evan, baby could have the initials ESQ if we choose a middle name with "S" as the first letter.

Name choice too strange? 39 votes

Don't do it! Your child will hate you forever.
15% 6 votes
Love it!
25% 10 votes
Meh. It works.
58% 23 votes

Re: Name choice too strange?

• I feel like as long as initials don't explicitly spell a 'bad' word, then they don't matter much. If you're into monograms, the last name will go in the the middle most of the time.
  • @nerdtoyourmother So no "David Isaac" in my case? ;) Thanks for the feedback!
  • Loading the player...
  • I don't think initials really matter. I can tell you that I don't think I have ever written my 3 initials on anything, and it is totally insignificant in my life. If you like it and it means something to you, go for it! I definitely don't think your kid will have a problem with it.
  • edited February 2019
    I don't think that is strange in the least.  We have some really unique names and my kids have dealt just fine. 
  • I'm also a lawyer and my three initials are utilized daily in my job.  As for the use of ESQ for initials, I'm kind of meh.  Our child will have the initials TJ and my sister suggested Judge or Justice as a middle name.  To me, that's like a banker using the middle name of Money. It's too over the top for my taste.

Ultimately, it comes down to whether you're comfortable with the thing you're toying with. What if your son also becomes a lawyer, is that the kind of thing you're comfortable with bestowing upon him? Just like thinking of how kids will make fun of a particular name, you should consider how those initials will potentially affect your child.  If you consider it and are ok with the result, then go for it!