October 2018 Moms

Shortness of breath/Anxiety

Is having shortness of breath during the first trimester normal? I barely do any activity and out of breath and get shortness of breath more the past 3 days. Has anybody had this before? and what can it be? what has helped you? 

Re: Shortness of breath/Anxiety

• ***I am NOT a Doctor, and you should always call your dr with concerns*** (this is just what my Dr told me)

So unless you are having other issues,  shortness of breath/feeling like you can't take a full breathe in, can be completely normal.
    I had it last time,  and currently experience it daily. 
    Progesterone increases lung capacity, and until your body gets used to the new hormone levels/capacity,  you may feel short of breath.

Also, this would be a wonderful thing to go in our Questions thread or or Symptoms thread. 
    Also, you should really change your name, so we get a chance to know and remember you! 
  • edited April 2018
    I've always had pretty mild asthma and I notice with each pregnancy i get really short of breath. But also talk to your doctor for anything that concerns you and let them know what's going
  • Loading the player...
  • Mine really is mostly anxiety. I try to remind myself to calm down, try to do excercises to take a deep breath, sometimes it just doesn’t work and some days it’s ok. Ask your doc if you are concerned. 

DS 12/15/13

BabyFruit Ticker
  • I get short of breathe doing the most mundane things. Basically any time I'm not sitting down I end up getting gsjort of breathe. 
    DS  12-1-2014
    DD 10-29-2016
    #3 due 10-13-2018
  • Yup. Can't carry my 7 lb cat up the stairs without getting short of breath.
  • I have this problem too. 
  • My problem is more dizziness than shortness of breath, but yeah. I walk up a flight of stairs and then I have to sit down. I would definitely bring it up to your OB at your next appointment but I would bet it’s just another normal joyful gift of motherhood.