Preemies
Options

3rd baby about to be born at 34 weeks. Need advice from mom's who have given birth around 34 weeks!

Due to a super rare high risk pregnancy, I have been in the hospital for the past month.  I turn 33 weeks tomorrow and they are planning my c-section for 34 weeks, so next Friday.

I am completely freaked about my c-section bc of a bad experience with my last c-section and all the risks involved with this pregnancy but that is another post!

My first two were born at 39 weeks and on her due date so I have no experience with a preemie, although I have heard that 34 weekers tend to do well.  Who here has had a baby around 34 weeks? Any advice for the NICU stay?  How long did they have to stay?  How was the breastfeeding process with a baby in the NICU, especially if you have other little ones at home.  I am sure I will think of more questions but those are the ones I can think of right now.  I truly appreciate every single person that responds!  TIA!

Re: 3rd baby about to be born at 34 weeks. Need advice from mom's who have given birth around 34 weeks!

• Options
    My son was born at 34 weeks due to severe pre-e and HELLP.  He was IUGR (growth restricted) and was 4.2 lbs at birth.  Nearly a month in the NICU but really as a feeder and grower - no major complications beyond some breathing issues that are common at that gestational age.  

He needed to be bottle fed fed after his tube came out since nursing was too strenuous.  We attempted to nurse for about a month and he was just frustrated after becoming used to the ease of bottle feeding.  I ended up pumping exclusively and it's what worked for us.  

Good luck to all of you!  
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Pregnancy Ticker     

• Options
    DiFazette said: