March 2018 Moms

Books and Blogs

I read the terms and conditions about how we should post, so I hope that this is appropriate.  If not, I can remove this...or move to another thread.

As most of us are getting somewhat settled into our pregnancies, I thought it night be a good idea to start a thread on favorite pregnancy or parenting books/blogs/websites.

As a ftm, I know I am lost in the shuffle of literature out there.  I figured if people would like to share books or sites that worked for them, they might want to share.  

Again,  this is my first time posting a thread, so I hope I did it right!

Re: Books and Blogs

• calecorvuscalecorvus member
    edited September 2017
    A strongly recommended book from a different forum im on is Expecting Better, which was written by a pregnant/new mom statistician, and it goes through a lot of pregnancy studies and break them down so that the reader can make their own decisions based on the information. As someone who always likes to know the "but why?" Behind everything i found it really reassuring and helpful. 

(Edit for typos)
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • orbmakerorbmaker member
    edited September 2017
    I've been reading The Philosophical Baby by Allison Gopnik about infant/toddler developmental psychology. Also read Raising Elijah by Sandra Steingraber about raising kids safely and consciously in our sometimes toxic, ever-threatened ecology/environment. 

Recommend both! 
  • Oh I remembered another one! We didn't read the book but we borrowed the DVD from our library - The Happiest Baby On The Block! It had some great tips for those newborn calming stages.