Infertility

Laparoscopy for endo recovery time?

Hi everyone,

A newbie here. I am considering doing a laparoscopy procedure to address my endo in order to increase my chances of fertility. Has anyone gone through this procedure who can tell me what kind of downtime to expect?

I work a full-time job and would rather be able to work soon after the procedure. How many days recovery does this normally take? How many cycles do I have to wait before trying to conceive again?

Thanks in advance!

--

ME(41.5) ENDO; DH(42) fine; DS(6) born 01/11 natural pg; TTC#2: since 10/14

IUI#1-6: all BFNs

IVF#1 05/16  7 ret, 3 fert, 0 gen normal

Re: Laparoscopy for endo recovery time?

• ReesaAnne16ReesaAnne16 member
    edited August 2017
    I'm sure the recovery time depends a lot on how much endometrosis they find that needs to be removed.

In my case, I only had 3 tiny spots that were removed, so recovery was mostly related to the anesthesia and the 3 small, abdominal incisions.

I had surgery on a Friday and went back to work on Monday. The day I had surgery, I was very groggy and had a sore throat most of the day from the tracheal tube. The next day, I was tired and a little sore. The 3rd day I felt fine mostly, and probably could have went back to work. There are restrictions for lifting post surgery, that prevented me from doing some tasks at my job for another week, but I felt fine.
    I hope this helps!

We had no restrictions on TTC post surgery, but I didn't feel up for BD'ing for a few days, since I was sore. 

Me 34 DH 36 Married since July 2010 
    MFI (High DNA Fragmentation) & Mild endometriosis
    TTC #1 since June 2015 
    Aug 2016 - May 2017  6 IUI's with letrozole - BFN
    April 2017 - laparoscopy to remove mild endo
    June 2017 - Mini IVF letrozole 12.5mg, Gonal-F 75IU - Cancelled early ovulation, no eggs retrieved. 
    Aug/Sept 2017 - Mini IVF letrozole 12.5mg, Gonal-F 75IU, cetrotide - 13 eggs retrieved, 11 mature