1st Trimester

Heart rate decreased in 8th week - ever seen this happen?

muchwantedmuchwanted member
edited May 2017 in 1st Trimester

I'm an infertility grad with a history of unexplained repeated losses, and I'm being monitored closely because of a large-ish subchorionic hematoma. Until today, the baby has always looked perfect despite the bleed, but the heart rate actually decreased slightly today compared to Monday. I know that it's supposed to slow down later in the first trimester, and I know there's a lot of error in these measurements, but I can't help but think this spells trouble. It should be steadily INCREASING right around now, shouldn't it?
6+3 HB @ 120
7+3 HB @ 156
7+6 HB @ 150 Has anyone ever seen this happen? What was the outcome? I'd appreciate any advice, thank you. I won't see my doctor again until next Tuesday, and this is going to be a long weekend full of worry. 

***TW***
DD born April 2015 after many rounds of IVF and losses.

After much more of the same...

Re: Heart rate decreased in 8th week - ever seen this happen?

• The heart rate will fluctuate based on how active your baby is or has been in the womb. 
  • Loading the player...
  • delujm0delujm0 member
    The baby's heart rate, much like your own, will fluctuate depending on activity level.  if it's asleep, it will be slower than if it's awake and moving around.  I'd be a little concerned if you're suddenly dropped back below 100bpm at 8 weeks, but the variation you are describing is not abnormal.  I'm sure your doctor told you the same thing.
  • delujm0 said:
     I'm sure your doctor told you the same thing.
    The doctor said nothing because I didn't get to see him. I only saw a nurse who had very little to say about anything. 
    ***TW***

• delujm0 said:
     I'm sure your doctor told you the same thing.
    The doctor said nothing because I didn't get to see him. I only saw a nurse who had very little to say about anything. 

----stuck in box----