July 2017 Moms

WM Check-in?

2»

Re: WM Check-in?

• @lanie1000 I have a fibroid as well.  If you don't mind me asking, do you know how big yours are measuring?  Why are the doctors concerned?  I've asked both my OB and my MFM about mine and they kind of brush me off.
    Me: 31 DH: 31
      <3 DS born 6/2017, became a heart angel 8/2018 <3
    CP 3/2019
  • @spongeworthy I have no problem sharing my experience! For everyone else this might be one long *TW*

I have two that are under 5cm that they don't care about, but one that was 6cm that increased to 7cm between my 13 week NT scan and my 20 week A/S. My regular OB keeps telling me there's nothing to worry about (but the fact that the MFM wants to see me every 6-8 weeks even though I'm not designated high-risk yet makes me a wee bit nervous.) 

MINOR ISSUES: According to the MFM, if the big one continues to grow rapidly, it could block my cervix and make vaginal delivery impossible. It could also prevent the baby from getting into birth position.

MAJOR ISSUES: She also said it could outgrow its blood supply (scary) and begin to break down which could trigger preterm labor. But that's pretty unlikely. Equally unlikely, she said it could eventually restrict the growth of the baby. 

She told me she's just being extra cautious, and it's more likely I'll have issues with postpartum bleeding than any problems carrying to term. So, I'm choosing not to worry unless my ultrasound on April 4th suggests otherwise! 

• Loading the player...
  • @lanie1000 Thank you so much for sharing.  I have a right uterine fibroid that measured 5.6 cm in December and was 6.8cm at my anatomy scan in March.  My baby has severe growth restriction, measuring about 4 weeks behind.  I am concerned that the fibroid has something to do with it, and my doctors just keep brushing off my questions. I've asked 3 different doctors about it.

If the fibroid does start causing growth problems for the baby, do you know how they would address it?