November 2017 Moms

GTKY: Work

Re: GTKY: Work

• Loading the player...
  • @safinn21 that's so awesome that your work excuses you from the stuff! During my first pregnancy I was a peds hem/onc nurse and had to give chemo all the time!
  • @heatherdubrow they're super accommodating to pregnant women which is so nice! Were there certain chemo medications you weren't allowed to give or did you hang everything? I had planned on calling our heme/onc floor to ask what they did about pregnant nurses, but we don't hang chemo that often so it hasn't been a big issue yet. 
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • @safinn21 I hung everything...we just followed hazardous drug precautions. That's really nice that they are so supportive where you work! Why be exposed unnecessarily?
  • @safinn21 I'm scared for job searching this spring/summer too. I know I won't qualify for maternity leave, as you generally need to work at the place for a year before benefits kick in, but I hope I can work something out with them. We could financially handle me being a SAHM but it would be stressful. 

Me: 25 DH: 29, Married 1/1/2015
    DS 11/2/2017
    TTC since August 2018

• @LadyMeowMeow Obviously overseas can mean anywhere, but generally finding a job can be difficult. Luckily as a teacher you'll have better options as either a full time teacher or a sub if there is a school on base for American kids. Here in Korea there are also a lot of opportunities to teach English but the hours are weird usually since they're mostly after school and evening programs, so like 2pm-10pm. 
    DS 11/2/2017
    TTC since August 2018