July 2017 Moms

GTKY Money saving tips & tricks

We had a time saving thread yesterday...how about a money saving thread?  We just found out finances may be tighter than expected, and I'm guessing others would like more ways to save as well!  

Re: GTKY Money saving tips & tricks

• I'm a novice, but I try to use Ebates when shopping online.
  • Dovahkiin_99Dovahkiin_99 member
    edited January 2017
    Great thread idea. We're in the same boat. Even though I know we're going to be fine, my nerves got the best of me and I cried about money when I got home from work today! I'd like to make all big purchases before baby gets here. Here are my tips for saving some cash:
    • We're going to cloth diaper and use re-usable wipes. I did a ton of research and you can save roughly $600/year by going the cloth diaper route. Bonus that it's also better for the environment. However, it does take more work, especially if you have more than 1 child. 
    • I plan on buying most of our baby gear from Craigslist, consignment stores (like Once Upon a Child, I don't know if that specific chain exist outside of Canada), and mom buy/sell/bid groups on Facebook. 
    • I'll be hustling my family, friends, and colleagues to see if I can borrow/buy there unused baby gear/clothes. 
    • Maybe we could post awesome deals we stumble across online for baby gear on this thread. 
    • Depending on how long your mat leave is, it may be worth looking into cheaper car insurance options since you'll no longer be commuting to and from work. 
    • Cut back on Starbucks  :'(
    I'm going to add more as I think of them. 

Edit: added more stuff
  • Loading the player...
  • @abmommy15. Food waste I swear a big one for us that I see as a money saving possibility.  I'm always using three of six green onions that don't last until the next week.  How do you find good BST groups?
  • Im with ya @a_wee_bit_terrified cloth diapers all the way!