New Jersey Babies

How Important is it for a Birth Plan to be Written (Riverview Medical is delivering hospital)?

Howdy

Having our firstborn in October and as a teacher I'm trying to use my summer to get everything done so come September I'm not crushed dealing with this and work. I want to have a natural birth without interventions, some freedom to sort of determine how I'm feeling in the moment (I don't just want to be strapped to a bed and rammed with IVs if I don't need them) but be allowed to add in pain meds (etc) as I feel I need them. I've had a completely healthy pregnancy, I'm young, low-risk...there's really no need for interventions to be put in from the get-go.

I have heard bad things about Riverview Medicals intervention rate and given I was finishing my MA and working straight through the second trimester I was so busy that I didn't get to research anything until now....and I'm not into changing OBGYNs at the last second. 

How important is it for me to have a written birth plan? Does it increase my odds of a hospital like Riverview with a high intervention rate respecting my wishes?

Thanks for any input! 
 <3 Married since 10/10/15 <3
<3 Little Girl due 10/10/16 <3

Best Answer

Re: How Important is it for a Birth Plan to be Written (Riverview Medical is delivering hospital)?

• I'm following this thread. I'm also due in October at riverview! 
  • Loading the player...
  • I'm not sure about the IVs. But I think most of the decisions will be a discussion with you anyway, like the epidural, whether or not to do a c-section if it's taking longer, etc. Is that what you mean?
  • Lizbeth86 said:
    I'm not sure about the IVs. But I think most of the decisions will be a discussion with you anyway, like the epidural, whether or not to do a c-section if it's taking longer, etc. Is that what you mean?