Toddlers: 12 - 24 Months
Options

Very picky about finger foods @12m

Hi all.  This is my first time posting on this board (over from Nov 15).  I have been reading some other posts on picky eating and transitioning to cups, but hope someone might have some ideas about a very specific picky habit my daughter has.  She was late to the solids game anyhow, and now at 12 months is still primarily eating purees. She has very little interest in finger foods (fruits, veg, soft cheese) or anything with too many lumps (mashed sweep potatoes, chunky applesauce, scrambled eggs etc.)  The only thing I can seem to get her into is baby puffs and crackers, so strangely, crunchy seems ok with her.  She is also fine with picking things up, so not a motor problem.  She is on the small side weight-wise, so subsisting off of puree and milk makes me a little nervous.  Her doc said just to keep putting it in front of her and adding carnation instant to her milk, but that just seems like a ton of sugar to be giving a small child!  Any ideas on how to get some more calories and variety into her diet?

Re: Very picky about finger foods @12m

• Options
    I make smoothies for my LO when his teeth are bugging him. They're quick to make and you could add all kinds of nutritious ingredients (almond butter, shredded coconut, spinach) while keeping the sugar down. Do you think that would work for your DD? 

I also give DS sautéed chicken liver when he's in pain. You can mash it to a paste-like texture if necessary. LO also likes hummus, guacamole, and yogurt.

Sorry, no tips on transitioning to other textures.
  • Options