Military Families

What to do first?

Hey everyone! So I'm about 6 weeks along now (due July 2nd) and I'm wondering what are the first steps I have have to take specifically for the military. What I mean by that is when should my husband tell his command that we are expecting? When do I need to make any changes to insurance? My husband should also be getting new orders for PCSing  around February so is there anything different from what I normally would do that I should do now that I know that I'm pregnant? I saw that for some on-base housing there may be some paperwork if you are pregnant... Will that make the wait time shorter or something? Also, any other tips or information would be greatly appreciated!!! I'm still pretty new to all this and could use all the help and information I can. Thank you in advance!

Re: What to do first?

• Medically, you will need to contact your pcm to schedule your prenatal care. They should walk you through it and some places even have different types, including group sessions.

When to tell your husband's command is kind of up to him, but things to take into consideration are that his boss should hear it from him not through work gossip. Also, if he will need to take time off to attend any appointments, he may need to let them know.

For PCS, it will depend on when and where you are moving. CONUS with plenty of time before giving birth, you should just need your doc's approval to travel and make sure your records get transferred. Later in pregnancy, you may need to move earlier or stay behind in order to give birth. Something your doc should be able to tell you about. OCONUS gets tricky and you should be able to talk to someone about.

As far as insurance, I'm not sure what changes you are talking about.
    DD1: June '16 DD2: March ‘19 :::: Married since 2011 :::: USN Wife ::::
  • edited November 2016