1st Trimester

Maternity leave...

How does everyone's maternity leave look? I feel like I can't take as much time off after having the baby b/c of maternity leave sucking. It's hard enough to save for the baby and pay bills, take care of the house, etc.... does anyone else feel those pressures? Does anyone know how payments at hospitals work? Do they set you up on a plan after birth?
 Pregnancy Ticker

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Maternity leave...

• You will have to ask your employer how your maternity leave works. Workplaces have a lot of freedom in what they do and do not have to offer to recovering mothers.

I am a public school teacher and I received 6 weeks that I was allowed to apply my sick leave to. Unfortunately, I did not have 6 weeks of leave built up, so most of that was unpaid. I also took some FMLA leave (2 weeks), which was also unpaid, because the day care I wanted did not take babies younger than 8 weeks.

As for the hospital bills, I contacted my insurance company and they assured me that I would not pay more than my co-pay for a hospital birth, which was $300, and that was accurate. If your insurance does not cover so much, most hospitals will set you up with a payment plan if you contact the hospital and ask.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Every state, employer, and hospital will be different, I'm sorry to say. 

I had 6 weeks at 2/3 pay, 4 weeks at 1/2, and 2 at 100%, but had to use one week of vacation before disability kicked in. 

My employer supplemented one week to 100% per year I have been employed by them. 

My hospital called my insurance and confirmed my deductible, and I had to pay it in full before being admitted, which was $1600. 
  • Loading the player...
  • KVela724KVela724 member
    edited October 2016

**Removed for TOU violation**

• @kvlazo84 you've been reported. It's clear you only use your account to sell stuff on the boards. 
    DD1 4.14.10
    DD2 8.22.13
    MMC 1.4.17 at 16w
    Expecting #3, EDD 1.29.18