Infertility
Options

Hello - newbie here

Hi guys,

I am about to start my very first IVF cycle and am feeling a little overwhelmed. I figured that joining this community and being part of this support group might be helpful so here I am :)

A little about us (DH and I):
We are both 30 and are in a little bit of different circumstances than the majority of people here are in, in that we have only ever  TTC for 2 months. Two months into TTC we were blindsided when my DH was diagnosed with Testicular Cancer. Thankfully it was caught very early, but DH still had to go through chemo and obviously our baby plans came to a halt. Prior to treatment the doctors urged us to visit a sperm bank, as the surgery and chemo would pretty much kill his sperm production temporarily and possibly permanently.

It has been 6 months since DH finished his treatments and he is doing great. The chance of the cancer returning is extremely low, and even if it does it is just as curable as the first time around (TC is 99% curable when caught early). So now that life has returned to normal we are ready to revisit our baby plans. We were told to avoid natural pregnancy for at least 2 years, as there is a chance chemo can cause birth defects, however it often takes 5-10 years for sperm to return to normal after the treatments anyway. So here we are about to jump into IVF.

I went through all the routine fertility screening and everything came back normal, so it is assumed that we have no fertility hurdles, but one never knows since we weren't TTC for very long. My RE has put me on a High Responder Antagonist protocol and we will be transferring one embryo.