May 2016 Moms
Options

Desperate mama - help!

LO will be 16 weeks on Thursday.  This all started at about 11.5 weeks.  Prior to that, he slept a 4 hour stretch, a 3 hr stretch and a 2 hour stretch at night and about 1 hr naps during the day.

Now, naps are 20 to 30 min tops no matter what we do (white noise, swaddle, swing, merlin sleep suit, paci, no paci, held in rocker, on chest, etc etc etc ad nauseum.)  at night, he sleeps a 2 hour stretch then is up every 30 minutes to an hour.  Exclusively breast fed but isnt even hungry for most of those wake ups - just awake and crabby.  Sleeps in a pack n play in our room.  Is definitely overtired.

I asked the pediatrician today who said, "yup, 4 month sleep regression, good luck."  NOT helpful. Im exhausted, crabby and worried Im going to screw up at work from sleep deprivation (Im a Veterinarian).

Ive been reading online like crazy and theres so much mixed stuff out there - cry it out, too young for CIO, sleep associations, etc.  Has anyone found anything that worked?  Has anyone actually paid one of the online experts for a consult???  

Im dying over here. 4 weeks into this with no end in sight. And some of the sites said that babies "hit hard" with the regression, like mine is, can do this well into toddlerhood!

Re: Desperate mama - help!

• Options
    NewbySweetNewbySweet member
    edited September 2016
    Sorry your going through this but it does sound like sleep regression, sounds like it's hitting you pretty hard. As from my understanding there isn't a great lot you can do, just roll with it until it passes. Is your partner helping with any night feeds or just to entertain him while he wakes in the night? I'm guessing you both work but it shouldn't be your job alone to wake up to him every night. Hope it passes soon. 
    Edit to add I originally missed that your EBF so ignore the part about partner doing night feeds. Still sticking to him waking up and entertaining him and letting you get more sleep.