September 2015 Moms

First dentist appointment?

Just curious when everyone plans to take LO to the dentist for the first time? My son currently has 6 complete teeth with 2 that just came through the gums in the last few days. A friend just took her 1 year old to the dentist, he has 2 or 3 teeth but they're not fully erupted yet. I'm just wondering what's the norm for this? I didn't have any plans to take LO to the dentist for a while. I figure 1 and 1/2 but maybe I'm wrong?

Re: First dentist appointment?

• Our pediatric dentist (for my older kids) said to bring Ronen in after his 1st birthday so they could check his gums/teeth.  Your plan for 1 1/2 sounds good to me! 
  • I worked as a dental assistant prior to becoming a SAHM and our dentist always said whenever they have teeth! It's more parent education at this age and of course checking to make sure there are no cavities. Unfortunately I have seen cavities on little ones as young as 1. 
  • Loading the player...
  • My daughters dentist reccomends 6 months with or with out teeth to check gums. But i didnt take DD until she was 1 & plan to do the same with the boys.

@leeeahyo i believe it! My husbands best friend has twins as well & him & his wife give them soda in their bottle & they barely turned 1 on Monday. Its crazy.
  • leeeahyo said:
    I worked as a dental assistant prior to becoming a SAHM and our dentist always said whenever they have teeth! It's more parent education at this age and of course checking to make sure there are no cavities. Unfortunately I have seen cavities on little ones as young as 1. 
    Oooh my god. That's awful. :( I'll get him in to the dentist sooner than. Can't hurt.
  • I spoke with my hygienist and she told me to brush when she gets teeth. I don't need to take her into the dentist until 2. That was their recommendation.
  • vibarra27 said: