March 2017 Moms

When will you tell your boss?

kap1988kap1988 member
edited July 2016 in March 2017 Moms
I'm curious when everyone is planing to announce to their employer.  I am a paralegal at a very small law firm (only 2 attorneys and I'm the only full time staff member) and we are all very close.  My husband is anxious for me to talk to my boss about what we can work out for maternity leave.  We are too small for even FMLA to cover us, but my boss is very generous and I'm optimistic about what he will offer.  I am thinking of waiting a week or so until I'm 8 weeks.  Also, how will you guys go about telling? I'm thinking of asking my boss and the office manager (his daughter) if I can meet with them.  For some reason I'm really nervous about it even though I have no reason to be.  My boss has six daughters all of them have kids and almost all of them work full time (a couple are engineers, one is his office manager, etc.) so I think he will be really understanding.  I just don't know about when and how to tell... 

Me 28 DH 28 Married 2012

TTC #1 since March 2015

Metformin + Femara + Gonal F + Trigger = BFP 6/24/16 

EDD 3/3/17

Found out it's a girl! 9/23/16

Pregnancy Ticker

Re: When will you tell your boss?

• I'm not going to talk to my boss until after I get back from vacation in August. My daughter is a skater and will be competing in nationals in Nebraska so we're doing a long road trip. (Talked to my doctor & I'm all clear to drive that long). I'll talk to my boss when I get back since we're doing the dating US the Friday after we return. I already talked to HR since we're heading into open enrollment and benefits will be changing but she has promised to not say anything. My boss will not be too pleased but she'll have to deal.

****TW Signature****
    BabyFruit Ticker
    DD born 04/28/2002
    Married DH 03/25/2017
    1st MMC 08/13/2016 2nd MMC 02/14/2017
    BFP 06/16/17 Rainbow DS Born 02/05/2018